Start a Conversation

Unsolved

P

1 Message

January 22nd, 2021 11:00

Aurora R11, High CPU Temps

Hi, I have an i9 R11 with stock liquid cooling. Heat sinks. 2080 Ti graphics. 3 months old. Fans were ridiculously high and couldn't hear myself think with the thing running. Switched out the front and top fans for a Corsair 120. Got the error whenever I booted the thing up. Finally checked the CPU temps because I'm new to this and it runs at 70c at idle with NOTHING running. MSFS 2020 makes it run at 100c constantly. Cyber Punk 2077 runs at 100c. I didn't get the "Pro" version of the fans so I switched out the fans for the Corsair pros. No change. Quieter but still crazy hot. Stuck one of the original Corsair fans in the top in a push/pull configuration. No change. It's sitting there right now with nothing running and its dropped down to 66c where it will stay until I try to run a game and it will jump up to 100c. P3d v5 runs at 93c. Thanks.

1 Rookie

• 

569 Posts

January 23rd, 2021 05:00

Hi @pjmcc and welcome

What are the fan speeds in AWCC and check the pump speed with HWINFO.

Which AWCC Thermal profile are you using?

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

January 23rd, 2021 07:00

Also did you check to confirm you have an alien head AIO block and not a heatsink on the CPU and the pump is running and not making weird eg gurgling noises?

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

January 23rd, 2021 07:00

If the cpu is not being utilized ad idling at a low frequency but the temps are in the 60s or 70s with liquid cooling, the cold plate may not be fulling connecting with the ihs.  That would require a repaste to fix if it were the problem.

1 Rookie

• 

569 Posts

January 23rd, 2021 10:00

I was getting curious

The ML 120 pro fans cut if they exceed their max speed between 2400 and 2600 on R8.

Not the same system, but @r72019 is right to say 70+ is not normal at all and maybe needs a repaste.