Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 23rd, 2016 18:00

Alienware 17 2014 r2 model not quite powerfull

Yeah hello this is my first time posting something in this forum so please bare with me.

So a week ago i bought an used alienware laptop

I saw the specs of this computer and thought it was enough powerful to run league of legends csgo but i was wrong so im here to ask for help because this laptop cant even run csgo at 60 on any settings and i find it very strange.

Alienware 17

Intel Core i7 4700MQ 2.4 GHz

16 gb of ddr3

Intel Hd graphic 4600 and Geforce gtx 770m

I have updated every driver with the auto system detect from dell and installed all the drivers

i have also installed GeForce experience and i made sure I'm using the dedicated gpu from the nvidia control panel. I don't know if maybe the bios isn't right or maybe this laptop isn't really powerful. I have also put the battery to be on performance. Something that really bothers me is that even on low i can't play any game at a 60 fps, i only get about 45 on csgo.

I left a report of cpu-z for every info.

I also did a full scan of my computer. My battery doesn't work and i get a pci express statut no device on my gpu

3 Apprentice

• 

4.4K Posts

September 26th, 2016 15:00

Hi,

Try running a video card stress test. Follow the steps below to do this.

• Open Support Assist
  • Click on the Checkup option
  • Click Run Custom Scan
  • Click on the Nvidia/AMD card
  • Select the Stress Test option

If you do not have Support Assist installed, click here for the download link. Let me know how high the GPU temperature goes in the stress test. 

September 27th, 2016 14:00

it passed the test but the fps were at 35 never above 40

i did the stress test not the cuda

here's a picture of gpu-z: http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/16/09/27/3fp.png

September 28th, 2016 11:00

So my graphic card isn't using all it's power i think because i never get above 40fps