Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 18th, 2011 20:00

to buy or not to buy?

hi im thinking of getting the m17x. im just worried about the complants of them being defective and dell tech support and not honoring the warrintty

look forward to the feed back 

2 Posts

June 18th, 2011 21:00

seriously now dont buy alienware, from the first day i bought it full of problems

15 Posts

June 18th, 2011 21:00

I have had nothing but excellent support and warranty since I bought my R1.

69 Posts

June 18th, 2011 23:00

just depends on your luck i guess ...

- whether you get a perfectly fine machine or a slightly defective one (mine had several defects)

- whether you get an experienced support staff or a total noob (i got a noob the first few times i called, but eventually my case was escalated to a really good support team that sorted all my issues)

so, bottom line, if you tough it out with Dell, my experience is they will do right by you ... sometimes it can be a long hard road (like most of the complaints here) ... or if you are lucky, it will be smooth sailing... and unfortunately, when things go right, not many people post compliments or thanks on the forums =)

431 Posts

June 19th, 2011 00:00

Look at the Asus g73sw. for the price point it owns Alienware. I got one. its flawless.

6 Posts

June 19th, 2011 00:00

I say to buy the Alienware, BUT, also buy the extended warranty! I have had issues with mine since the R1 days. If it wasn't for my extended warranty, I would not of had 5 motherboards replaced,  6 sets of ATI video cards replaced, and 2 processors replaced. Even through out all of the problems, Alienware has been the best to me! Their tech support agents are very very helpful! My issue has currently been resolved with a replacement upgrade to a new laptop.

BIG thumbs up (even thought the constant issues)! It's an awesome machine once you get to know it's attitude.

-M

501 Posts

June 19th, 2011 04:00