Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 14th, 2020 12:00

17 R1, need to understand additional drives

I'd like to upgrade the laptop with an additional HDD, hopefully an SSD. I'm new to upgrading Alienware, and don't know where to start. I contacted DELL and they recommended adding a 2nd drive external via usb-c (which the laptop does not have). My question: is there slots/openings/place for an SSD additional drive?

-Tim

4 Operator

• 

6.2K Posts

February 15th, 2020 07:00

Welcome to the Dell Community  @TimRjr2 

Interface: SATA 6 Gbps

Hard drives: Up to three 2.5-inch hard drives or solid‑state drives.

NOTE: The third hard drive/solid‑state drive is optional and can be installed in the optical‑drive bay.

mSATA: One mSATA full mini-card

Alienware 17 Specifications:

https://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_laptop/esuprt_alienware_laptops/alienware-17_reference%20guide_en-us.pdf

You can find the caddy and other accessories at the Parts People.

Alienware 17 R1 Secondary Hard Drive Caddy Carrier - 2nd HDD - FN03H:

https://www.parts-people.com/index.php?action=item&id=20986

Alienware 17 Owner's Manual:

https://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_laptop/esuprt_alienware_laptops/alienware-17_owner%27s%20manual_en-us.pdf

Best regards,

U2

• 

25.7K Posts

February 15th, 2020 06:00

We tried reaching you on a private message but did not receive a response. Please feel free to write back whenever you are available.

4 Posts

February 17th, 2020 15:00

Thank you: I was able to find a YouTube video how to disassemble the beast and now I understand much more.  Looking at the Parts People for upgrade parts for the Alienware and also now know that there is a mSATA MINI that fits my Latidude E6430.  Upgrades are in order!

5 Practitioner

• 

1.5K Posts

February 17th, 2020 18:00

If you're interested later, you can put up to a GTX 1070 into the R1. 

4 Posts

February 18th, 2020 07:00