Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 3rd, 2020 11:00

17 R4, reseat the memory message?

Hello! Today after restarting the laptop, I have a white screen from SupportAssist saying:

"The amount of system memory has changed. If you did not change your memory... To resolve this issue, try to reseat the memory.".

I have no idea what this means. I have not touched any RAM or memory and do not touch it or anything of the sorts as I'm a newbie at this kind of stuff. I have no clue what reseating the memory even means. Any help would be appreciated!

2 Intern

• 

385 Posts

January 12th, 2021 16:00

@heara Same as me then. I gave up after several tries today. It seems that what's trigger it is a restart. If I just shutdown and start it up again after the error message it will not show up before doing a restart on my end. So restarting triggers it every time it seems, not a complete shutdown.

Another discovery I did today is that SA is now a build in app in windows and not a separate program as before. I think that this can have something to do with it. I found out this when I tried to run the SA as admin, but that option is no longer possible. So that can explain why a windows update can be apart of the problem. We know that some have been successful in just uninstalling WU updates. Others have removed both. I will monitor my system over the coming days/weeks and see if it gets better or worse. Something tells me that this can be ongoing until Microsoft’s 21H1 update that will debut in the first half of 2021: https://www.howtogeek.com/685996/whats-new-in-windows-10s-21h1-update-coming-spring-2021/ 

2 Intern

• 

385 Posts

January 13th, 2021 05:00