Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 27th, 2010 16:00

ATO of Windows 2008 VSS Plugin?

I am fairly new to avamar and am trying to get system state of a windows server 2008 server to tape. Currently backups using the windows file system plugin work great but when staging system state data a bootablesystemstate folder is created on the staging server along with ARS, COM+ Registry and System files but are all 0KB in size.

in the ATO log i get the following:

=====================================================================================================================================
BU-ID    AVAMAR-DOMAIN / CLIENT-NAME                                         DATE        TIME       SIZE       PLUG-IN  COUNT/CLIENT
=====================================================================================================================================
[56]    /Prod/test/                                 2010-08-26   20:17:03    24616288K    Windows       [2] <--rtype,
[60]    /Prod/test/                                 2010-08-26   20:25:00    0K           Undetermined  [2] <--rtype,

The first line item would be the file system data but the second is Windows VSS data.

27-08-10 14:51:38 [MOD-1282942298853][3001] Initiating [MCCLI] Recovery Session: 2 of 3
Staging client->[bes-a101.admin.norquest.ca BU-id-60]->STGSRV[mgt1001.norquest.ca]->FS ->Files[All][]
27-08-10 14:51:41 Staging Completed Status=Completed Progress: 0

Is the VSS plugin not properly supported with ATO?

215 Posts

August 28th, 2010 02:00

Ben001,

Currently ATO is unaware of this backup type but it may be possible to add it.

Can you please run the following two commands and send me the two named check files?

You will need to substitute your actual ATO client group name.

ato -gid -select -buid 60 -d -d -d -d -d -d > /tmp/chk_select.txt 2>&1

ato -gid -tapeout -s -d -d -d -d -d -d > /tmp/chk_tapeout.txt 2>&1

Thank You

215 Posts

August 28th, 2010 08:00