Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 26th, 2015 12:00

SPcollect for both SPs

Hi can someone explain to me why we need an SPcollect for both SPs and not only for SPA or SPB. As I understand both SPs access the same disks and have the same configuration except IP address? My question may seem a bit weired but I'm new in this field and I want to understand this first before moving forward.

February 26th, 2015 13:00

Each SP 'owns' a set of LUNs, and a LUN is only active on one SP at a time.  (for Clariion anyway)

Really, this makes sure that SP resources (cpu, memory and cache) are used appropriately.

Therefore if you only gather a single SP's collects, you're not going to get all the logs/captures and info about the LUN's the other SP has active on it, and you won't be getting the full picture.

When you look at a LUN's properties you will see the Current owner and the Default owner. When a LUN is not on it's default owner, it's 'trespassed'.  In the event of an SP failure, all LUNs on the failed SP would trespass to the peer/surviving SP.

You may also see 'Allocation Owner', which for Pools, manages the slice allocation.

Ideally you want the allocation owner, the default owner, and the current owner to all the the same SP.

I've digressed a bit from your question, but hope the info helps.

February 26th, 2015 14:00

Oh heck, you don't need cables! Do this from the Unisphere GUI.

Go to the system tab, then down the right you'll see "Diagnostic Files". Generate the files for SPA, then SPB then come back in 10 minutes and run the "Get Diagnostic Files" wizards.

Can also be done form cli if you're that way inclined (I am). So if that interests you, happy to help you with that later on.

22 Posts

February 26th, 2015 14:00