Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 6th, 2014 07:00

Working with Centera from Java.

Hi All,

I have never worked with Centera before but have been asked to consider the following scenario and provide some rough estimates and a statement regarding the feasibility of attempting to build a solution of this type by the close of business (UK time) tomorrow (07th November, 2014). I therefore thought I'd sketch out the basics here in case anyone could offer any useful thoughts or advice.

We build Java web services and applications primarily so would be looking to access Centera directly from our Java applications. I have seen that the Centera SDK provides a Java JNI wrapper for the main SDK functionality that is implemented in C libraries.

Our development environment is standard Windows PCs with Eclipse (Java IDE), JDKs as appropriate (1.6, 1.7, 1.8 etc) and Windows builds of our JBoss Fuse Service Works deployment platform. Thus, we can build and run everything locally and the only non-local element is typically the development database.

Our destination environment is based on the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) OS along with the corresponding RHEL versions of the required JDKs and JBoss Fuse Service Works deployment platform.

QUESTION 1:

Is the "FPLibrary.jar" containing all the Java JNI wrapper code platform independent or platform specific? In other words... If we installed the appropriate Windows version of the Centera SDK on our development PCs and the appropriate Linux version of the Centera SDK on our RHEL deployment servers, would the "FPLibrary.jar" supplied with the Windows SDK function correctly if packaged up into our WAR artifact and deployed on our RHEL deployment servers or would we need to switch out the "FPLibrary.jar" file on a per-platform basis?