Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

J

January 28th, 2013 04:00

Dell XPS8300 Graphics Driver Uninstall & Update

I purchased this system in November of 2012. This is going to be a shortened version of my problem. I am a consulting mech engineer and I have lost about three hours typing this in as a post in IE9 because the online editor froze half way through my typing on Friday and again this morning. So I am using Word 2010 now and pasting. On Friday, I assumed it was a glitch in bandwidth or IE9 froze (as it does constantly on a daily basis) so I just went back to working on consulting projects and decided to give it another try this morning. It froze again this morning, so it must be the internal editor or it relationship with IE9. Obviously, I should have saved as I was typing. I have included my system info below. Talk as technically as you like when you respond because I have built or repaired around 1000 to 1500 PC’s in my spare time over the last 20 years or so. This, however, is the first time I have experienced the following problem (even on Dell computers with proprietary items such as graphics cards and PSU’s). The problem: I was going to update my graphics card drivers (nVidia GTX 560 Ti (which is a Dell proprietary card and not the same as the nVidia marketed version). The installed drivers, however, do not show up under “any” uninstall program (including the “Add/Remove Programs” list in Windows 7. I have a few tech packages since I repair a lot of system (and build a few occasionally). These programs allow me to go in under the kernel of the OS (to remove things hidden in Windows by default, which I often need to do when removing viruses or virus-like products such as “malware”). I can’t find the installed drivers, even with these programs. They are there but then they are not. I can uninstall manually via the registry and then use a “sweeper” program to remove leftover items. I know you know the importance of “complet