Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 13th, 2016 15:00

Graphics card update for XP 8300 to 4GB

I have a 2011 Dell XP 8300.  The processor is an  i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz,  I have upgraded the hard drive to a 1 tb ssd, and now have 16 gb ram.  I started video rendering on Adobe Premiere and it was OK but having a tough time.  When I started using 4K it just can't handle it.

My last possible solution is a graphics card update from what I read, I'm NOT a computer expert or technician.  NOT a know it all.

From what I can tell, my current graphics card is an AMD Radeon HD 6700 Series.

I spent an hour with Dell chat a received poor help, the first suggestion was a slower card than I have now.  And they don't have a 4GB graphics card from what I was told.

I'm not a gamer;just need it to be able handle 4K video rendering.  Any suggestions would be helpful. 

I know power suppy can be an issue and I don't know where to find what I currently have.  Also already use dual monitors so would want that to continue.  I do have 1 4K 27 inch monitor.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Stan

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

August 14th, 2016 13:00

4K video rendering requires expensive GPU's in SLI or crossfire.  Thats why the new mac pro uses 2 video cards.   These cards also require large power supply.  The Area 51 with 3 way SLI GTX 980 has a 1500W power supply.  Rendering is done in the GPU not the CPU.

This is why NVIDIA recommends 2 X  Quadro M6000 for this.

The XPS 8300 is not a workstation that can take 2 Quadro cards.

Based on your system a Single Quadro M6000 Video Card would barely break even IF it works at all in your PCI-E 2.0 bus which means its held back in 3 ways.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UXHQHJS/

1.2K Posts

August 14th, 2016 16:00

I know several who are muddling through 4K video export and they do not have SLI graphics cards.  None are bragging about how quick their systems are, but they are able to complete the task.