Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 4th, 2009 15:00

The "What U Hear" problem

Hi all

I am a musician and I bought my Dell Studio 540MT with Soundblaster x-fi extreme card in order to record music made with virtual studios and recorded with sound recorder.

Of course I now find out that "What u hear" recording of internal audio is not a built in feature.

I need it and my computer is a waste of space without it.

Posting this to add my voice, but any ideas would be very greatfully recieved.

Thanks

Justin

p.s. ths problem indirectly caused me to loose my entire 38gig music collection!

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

July 4th, 2009 16:00

This is not just a Dell issue. . 

I got this from a Soundblaster tech, when I was working on a What You Hear problem for a client:  As you can see it's not a Dell issue, SoundBlaster does not support that in the Extreme Audio models.

"For your information, The What U Hear recording option is supported in
Windows Vista for Sound Blaster X-Fi series (excluding Extreme Audio and
Titanium series) and Sound Blaster Audigy series (excluding Sound
Blaster Audigy LE, SE, and Audigy Value)."

I'm a musician too and have a computer based recording studio setup using Sonar 8.  But, I don't rely on the PC's sound card for the recording interface, I have a separate 8 channel recording interface unit (Focusrite Saffire Pro 40).  Same way on playback, I have my Samson studio monitor speakers connected to the Saffire Pro 40. .

ths problem indirectly caused me to loose my entire 38gig music collection!

If you didn't have your music collection backed up, shame on you. Backups are not for "if" you will ever need them but for "when" you need them. 

July 5th, 2009 01:00

I contacted Creative to ask which card support "What U Hear" they said:

Cards such as X-Fi Xtreme Audio ,PCI Express X-Fi Xtreme Audio and
ExpressCard/54 X-Fi Xtreme Audio Notebook all support "What u hear".