Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 22nd, 2008 08:00

What do the Fixes/Enhancements mean?

It's not a problem I'm going to talk about, but a general question.

Fortunately from time to time there's a new BIOS for our nice DELL PCs (I use a Vostro). I always read with interest the readme file. However, usually I don't exactly know what it says (I'm a programmer, but no hardware expert unfortunately).

For example the new BIOS 1.0.15 (and also in 1.0.11 ) it says:

Dell Vostro Desktop 200 System BIOS

15/07/2008
 Version:    1.0.15   
 Fixes/Enhancements:
 1. Updated Intel microcode.

What does this mean and what has been updated? Can we users see the "fixes/enhancement" in some way?

What did this mean for 1.0.14 :
 Fixes/Enhancements:
 1. Fan curve parameters update. 

Do we hear a difference in the fan rotation speed?

Thanks.

Message Edited by Richardus on 07-22-2008 11:15 AM

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

July 22nd, 2008 09:00

First, as a programmer, you should know the old "if it ain't broke don't fix it" applies to BIOS updates, since a failed BIOS update/corruption means you will have to replace the motherboard. 

The "fixes" may or may not apply specifically to your PC, depending on whether it's having the problem that is "fixed".  Enhancements are improvements in the way something works and it's optional on whether any specific PC "needs" that enhancement. 

Many times the fixes/enhancements don't really go into the meat of what is being done and MAY only apply to certain hardware configurations or if someone has optional hardware.

I guess I talked around in circles, and it's going to be up to you whether you install the updated BIOS.  (I can associate with you as I once worked as a Programmer at NASA and realize that not all programmers are also hardware oriented). 

53 Posts

July 23rd, 2008 14:00

Fireberd, thanks for your reply.