Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 2nd, 2011 20:00

XPS 420 Boot problem - Please help - Many people have the same complaint!

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

August 3rd, 2011 08:00

Is there another video card to try in this PC?

8 Posts

August 3rd, 2011 12:00

I might be able to pull one from my son's computer, but I have never tried to do this before.  Is it difficult?

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

August 3rd, 2011 14:00

* Remove the current video card driver from the Control Panel- Programs and Features- Uninstall. When done, turn the PC off
* Disconnect the power cord from the rear of the PC
* Disconnect the monitor from the video card
* Open the case cover and remove the video card
* Add the other video card
* Close the PC cover
* Reconnect the monitor to the video card
* Reconnect the power cord to the rear of the PC
* Power on the monitor, then the PC
* Load the video card driver. When done, restart the PC

8 Posts

August 15th, 2011 08:00

Chris,

Hope you are well today.  Thank you for your help with my computer problems.  

Is there a recall for this problem I am having?  It seems that if Dell sold the XPS 420 systems with incompatible parts, Dell should replace the incompatible video cards for free.  If I take the video card from our old computer, then my son will no longer be able to use it.

Nevertheless, I want to try the steps you suggested, but I cannot get my system to power on at all now, therefore I cannot uninstall the video card driver.  Can I still perform the other steps below?

My old computer (Dell Dimension 8250 w/ Intel Pentium4 processor) used Windows XP and its video card is listed on the invoice as "64MB GeForce4 MX Graphics card with TV out"  

Will that work in my XPS 420 (intel Core 2 Q6600) that runs with Windows Vista?  The XPS 420's invoice says it has a ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro, 128MB.

Thanks for your help.

Kathy

17 Posts

August 15th, 2011 10:00