Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 18th, 2017 11:00

When did Dell start shipping OptiPlexes with Realtek NICs?

Hello all, this is my first post, so if I am doing anything in error, please let me know. I would like to be as professional and communicative as possible. I am not here to rant, but if this starts to become one, just tell me and I will refrain from doing it again.

Quick background: I've been a network admin/tech for about 15 years now. I am, by no means, a guru, but I think I am safe to say I know my way around networks, hardware, OSI model, building machines and servers, etc. In other words, I feel it's safe to say that the issues I and my team are experiencing are not user error, but I may be wrong, of course.

I have always loved Optiplexes, always. My company recently purchased a new Optiplex 3040 SFF Desktop (not USFF).

When our engineers started to complain that the unit's NIC (Onboard) begin dropping packets, and giving them an overall unstable intranet/Internet experience, I was surprised! OptiPlexes have always been my recommendation for any business, even if they are a bit out of the price range.

I always worked hard to convince businesses to spend the extra premium to go Optiplex, over Inspiron, or Vostro. My reasoning was always because of the presence of better interface hardware and reliability (even if paying the premium did not give them a better CPU/RAM/Video, etc).

After taking a look at the unit, I was surprised to see it had a Realtek NIC chip onboard. It made me uneasy. I don't have a problem with Realtek, but I am pretty religious about not using them in any sort of mission-critical environment.

I don't want Realtek in my team's research machines. I paid the premium for an Optiplex because I thought that meant Intel Pro/Broadcom chips for networking.