Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 15th, 2009 05:00

1-TB RAID 0 on XPS M2010

Hi, all!

Noob here on the Dell forums.

I want to ask if anyone out there has tried installing two 500-GB hard drives on an XPS M2010 and linked them in RAID 0 for a total of 1 terabyte storage.  I plan to do this on my M2010, but I want to know first if this is at all possible for this model of laptop before I buy the components (actually, except for the hard drives themselves, I already have all components -- cables, caddy and all).  Are there any limits set by the BIOS or hard drive controllers or anything else on the laptop that might prohibit this?

Thanks!

1 Message

May 8th, 2013 07:00

I installed 2 1TB HDD's in my M2010 and it's working fine . Now I have so much storage space it's unreal.

yachtnutz

13 Posts

May 15th, 2013 03:00

So the XPS M2010 has been phased out for a while now -- since 2009 or 2010, I think. This means that even the newest M2010s are over three years old by now. Mine would be 5.

So how is everyone's M2010s doing? :)

I have since modded my video card to prevent it from going through that overheating issue common to the M2010 GPUs. Also, as stated above, I've stuck two 750-GB drives into it and linked it in RAID 0, then installed Windows 8 Pro into it. Drivers were a headache to install, as expected, but I was able to do some run-arounds to make it work. The only hitch so far is that the Bluetooth keyboard loses pairing with the computer every now and then, requiring a USB keyboard and mouse to go through the hoops of pairing it again. Not sure why this happens.

Also, as expected, the main battery is dead and the unit requires being plugged in full time to run. The battery on the keyboard, surprisingly, has not needed changing and still works well when disconnected from the computer (except for the lost pairing issue, although THAT could be a symptom of the keyboard battery dying, too).