Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 10th, 2010 09:00

Downloading drivers - PROBLEMs

Trying to download drivers for an E1705. 

Read about all the issues with new Dell download manager. Tried to install ...no go. Said I needed ms.Net framework. Could not install, or installed wrong one ..

What is going on? I am not a novice ..so this should not be an issue.

Just be neat if Dell made the files themselves to download rather than through this manager they have devised.

HELP ! Please help me to get the drivers for my bro's laptop.

Thanks

9 Legend

• 

87.5K Posts

October 10th, 2010 09:00

You can download using a browser.   Use Firefox - not Internet explorer -- and choose "download using my browser", not the Dell download manager.

If you've already chosen the download manager, remove your cookie cache before going back in and you'll see that option.

5 Posts

October 10th, 2010 10:00

I finally got the Download Manager to work, per sticky's link. Yea.

So now I can use Firefox or the DM ...and I want to install video first, per instructions ..but which one ? There are a number of recommended and optional downloads. I pulled up System Information via start, but it does not seem to indicate which video I have.

Oh ..I did use my service tag # to pull up specific drivers for this laptop, so I would think it is there. Most look like TV drivers ??

Thanks for your help.

9 Legend

• 

87.5K Posts

October 10th, 2010 11:00

The video does not come first - you MUST install the Dell notebook system software and the chipset driver before anything else.

The BIOS screen (F2) will tell you which video chip (integrated Intel, ATI X1400 or nVidia 6800 or 7800) you have.

5 Posts

October 10th, 2010 12:00

Thanks for that.

The sticky was Terry B's, by the way.