Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 17th, 2013 18:00

LF Opinions - Upgrading wireless network card

Hello Dell community!

I'm a student living with my parents and I'm using the Inspiron 17r SE. Recently a new router was installed in our network which provides this throughputs: 2,4 GHz - 300 Mbps / 5 GHz - 450 Mbps. Unfortunately I experience signal drops on 2.4 GHz sometimes what might be the result of too many  wireless devices (headset, mouse, keyboard, phone...). So I decided to upgrade my network card to use the 5 GHz frequency (and to be the only one using it... ;D).

After a quick research I found these two cards:

Solution 1 - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300

Pros: Dual-Band 3x3 (max. 450 Mbps)

Cons: Requires a 3rd antenna - Possible?

Solution 2 - Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260

Pros: Ready for future standards (802.11ac - 867 Mbps)

Cons: Just bought a non-ac router. Only 2x2 so still 300 Mbps. Standards / Laptop in 5 years?

I would like to go for solution 1, but the missing antenna is a case I couldn't find any details for Dell devices. Furthermore I'm curious if the signal quality and range increase when received by 3 antennas.

If there is no chance of istalling a 3rd one I will take solution 2, except there is a reason to wait some more time.

Opinions and instructions are welcome! ^^

Regards

Miguel

1.5K Posts

October 18th, 2013 00:00

Hi Miguel,

Dell has tested the following wireless cards with the system:

• DW1703 WiFi/Bluetooth 4.0 combo card
  • DW1704 WiFi/Bluetooth 4.0 combo card
  • DW1901 WiFi/Bluetooth 4.0 combo card
  • Intel® 2230 WiFi/Bluetooth 4.0 combo card
  • Intel® 6150 WiFi/WiMAX combo card (US only)

Dell wireless 1901 is the only dual band card tested with the system. There is no option for a third antenna cable for the wireless card on the system.

For Service Manual, you may refer to the link: http://bit.ly/1087YJ2.