Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 3rd, 2013 11:00

Tips for maintaining good battery health

Hello,

I'm a student and recently over a period of 2 weeks had a heavy workload due to essays.

During this time I was charging the laptop up and letting it run all the way regularly.

I've noticed that during this time my battery health on my Dell XPS 13 went from 97% to 93%, something which has cocerned me
, especially considering essays are common and that I have no warranty to replace the battery should it needed. The laptop is 18 months old and to have the battery health drop this much in such a short space of time is worrying. Am I charging/discharging the laptop incorrectly?

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to retain good battery health because at this rate my battery will need replacing pretty soon, somethng I simply can't afford.

18 Posts

December 3rd, 2013 22:00

Just to add, I do like to play games on the laptop too. obviously not the newer triple-AAA titles, either older or indie titles.

I need to know what is the best method for maintaining good battery health.

When I want to play a game or have a heavy workload would it be better to keep the charger in the laptop even when it is fully charged?

During those 2 weeks of work I would charge the laptop and then when 100% take the charger out, let the battery run down and then charge it up again when needed. Is that harming the laptop?

Honestly, I have no confidence in how to charge/discahrge my laptop, particularly when considering leaving the charger in the laptop, something which I thought harms the battery more than charging/discharging

I would appreciate any help with this

Thanks

4 Operator

• 

13.6K Posts

December 8th, 2013 07:00

Hello. I honestly don't know what the best practices are, but you can read Dell's recommendations in the Laptop Battery FAQ. Most of your questions are addressed there.