Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 31st, 2012 00:00

XPS 13 L321X ultraportable Cypres touchpad driver won't download

The latest driver update won't download either by browser or by Dell download manager - both report "session data is corrupt."  This fault affects Input_Cypress_W7_A03_Setup-03PDC_ZPE.exe(66MB) (and also APP_Quickset_W78_A04-RW7HJ_ZPE.exe(7MB))  for me as I've updated a number of other drivers successfully.

This is a great laptop I've been enjoying for 4 months but it's always been spoilt by the poor trackpad software - unreliable multi-finger gestures that I've had to disable, unreliable tap to click ... well documented problems on the net.

So when I saw an update was available I was hoping it would fix these weaknesses.

Is there anything I can do at my end or is there a problem with this file?

5 Posts

September 3rd, 2012 18:00

Okay, after a mix of dogged persistence, patience, and a helpful Dell chat rep's hour-long efforts, the newest Dell Quickset and Cypress TouchPad updates (posted 8/30/2012) have been downloaded and installed on my xps 13.  

It's not a perfect fix, but the pad and buttons are working *much* better than before.  I should note that even the Dell rep had trouble getting these updates to download.  He managed to get them in a very roundabout way that I wasn't able to follow. He suggested that, within a week, the updates should be readily available for download. In sum, the newest updates seem to solve the Cypress TouchPad problem but they aren't immediately accessible.

One caveat: I have had the problems reemerge, after time, before; so we'll see if this most recent solution sticks.

DS

62 Posts

August 31st, 2012 06:00

Hi John,

You can perform these steps that can fix the touchpad issue:-

1. Open Control Panel - Mouse - Cypress Track pad - Click to Change Cypress track pad Settings - Select the option Enable/Disable - Apply – OK.