Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 20th, 2017 16:00

XPS 15 9550 Battery Swollen and Trackpad lifted!!! Just when I need to rush my thesis! Dell pls help!

After noticing the trackpad being very lifted (>2mm), I began to search online for possible reasons and found out that many other people have complained about the swelling battery. I opened up the laptop and indeed the battery is bulging like a balloon. All these happening to me right when I am rushing to complete my thesis.

Spoke to Dell online chat service officer and was simply told to contact technical support in UK (I am studying in UK). I am having my fingers crossed after reading many other users' experiences about poor or non-existent help from Dell. Worse still, I am looking for sources to purchase a replacement battery as a last resort in case my call with Dell ends up in despair, and there is none that seem to be reputable or reliable.

Sharing my problem here for the benefit of those yet that come across the same problem, and if I'm lucky, get some help from Dell or fellow users as well. Seems that Dell has not been acknowledging the problem or helping users in this matter which is pretty apparent a battery defect issue. Dell should get its battery supplier to rectify or replace all these problematic parts. It is not just a reputation issue, it is a big safety risk! (I have kids)

1 Message

July 20th, 2017 21:00

I just want to add my name to the list as well. I also have this problem right after 1 year of use of the laptop and my warranty ended. :( My track pad is severely lifted for half a year now and I also fear the battery can explode. I saw online that people have bought the battery model 6GTPY which is 97wh from the 9560 model and said it worked. Unfortunately I chatted with a dell rep and they said it is out of stock. My last resort is buy from 3rd party or ebay.  

4 Posts

July 21st, 2017 08:00