Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 14th, 2011 09:00

XPS17 (L702X) graphics card identification

Hi all, just received my new XPS17 a few days ago and finally have the chance to really check it out. I downloaded and run CPU-Z and one of the things that bothers me is my lappy was supposed to come with the NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M 3GB graphics with Optimus card, when I run the cpu-z program this is what it detects:

Name NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M

Revision A1

Codename GF106

Technology 40 nm

Memory size -1024 MB

PCI device bus 1 (0x1), device 0 (0x0), function 0 (0x0)

Vendor ID 0x10DE (0x1028)

Model ID 0x0DCD (0x04B8)

Performance Level Default

Core clock 50.5 MHz

Shader clock 101.0 MHz

Memory clock 135.0 MHz

Performance Level 2D Desktop

Core clock 202.5 MHz

Shader clock 405.0 MHz

Memory clock 324.0 MHz

Performance Level 3D Applications

Core clock 590.0 MHz

Shader clock 1180.0 MHz

Memory clock 900.0 MHz

Now im no rocket scientist but the -1024 MB of memory doesn't add up to the 3GB it is supposed to have. Am I missing something or looking at it wrong? Shouldn't it read -3072 MB??