Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 7th, 2010 19:00

inspiron 1564 C : D : drive configuration/ sizes

My son just got his new dell inspiron, C: is loaded up with the windows 7 os, and all other files and programs it is 59gb in size, D: is 230gb with nuthin on it. He downloaded his favorite game, world of warcraft, and ran out of space on C:.Did someone at dell goof or is this the factory configuration

1.8K Posts

April 8th, 2010 08:00

Interesting, you're not the only person to recently ask this.

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19328989.aspx

I've sent out an email trying to get an answer.

April 8th, 2010 16:00

i spoke with dell tech today about this for an hour, they claim this (60 gig C partition) is  now standard for my inspiron, I am no expert but win 7 can only use 4 partitions. dell uses 2 hidden ones, 100meg and 9.97 gig, os goes on C,  and all thats left is D an dell puts the recovery data hidden on that about 4 gig file. I find this ridiculous as my c drive is full after three days,and the repartition process looks daunting..........

April 8th, 2010 16:00

I also have a brand new xps 16, win7 prof, 500 gig hd, it does not even have the D partition on it, only the two hidden and the C with 450 gig on it

5 Posts

April 9th, 2010 09:00

I just purchased an Inspiron 1564 and  would also like an answer to this as my C drive is filling up fast.  

I am not a techie but I have seen several complaints in this vein. Please see review # 4  at 

<ADMIN NOTE: Broken link has been removed from this post by Dell>

Specifically where the reviewer says: "I have issues with the out of the box setup. For some reason, Dell chose to partition the 500GB hard drive into a 60GB primary drive containing the operating system (C:) and a 400GB blank storage drive (D:). That setup would make the Documents, Pictures, and Music folders integrated into Windows 7 useless."