Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 25th, 2018 06:00

P4317Q, How OS agnostic is it?

Currently I have a dual-monitor set-up on a Ubuntu Linux PC and next to it, another dual-monitor set-up on a FreeBSD PC - that's four 20" monitors in a row and I use a Lindy KM switch to switch my keyboard & mouse between the two PCs. It works OK but these are 1600x1200 screens and I would like to get more onto them (I'm a sys admin with lots of xterms, etc open on all screens) so I was looking at the P4317Q as a possible solution instead of buying four 24" or 27" screens.

Most of the time I would be using the 4 PBP mode so is this likely to run into O/S support issues?

Secondly it might be an advantage if I could resize the individual pictures or move them around; I realise DDM isn't available for Linux (never mind FreeBSD) but can I do all these things on the command line via the RS232 serial interface?

Andy

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

September 25th, 2018 08:00

Many Dell unknowns here...
* Dell does not test our monitors using KVM's
* Dell does not support Linux, Ubuntu, etc. on the P4317Q. Not only will DDM not work, we do not have a monitor driver for those OS
* The P4317Q RS232 Protocol Document PDF is here
* The P4317Q RS232 Protocol Examples PDF example PDF is here

38 Posts

September 25th, 2018 09:00

Thanks for your quick reply. I get the feeling it *might* work if each of the four PBPs are effectively treated as independent monitors with completely separate inputs but as you say, it's not officially supported and I would have no other use for this screen if it doesn't work (other than try and persuade a Window-using colleague.to buy it off me!). I think I'll look at Dell's 24 or 27" ranges and get one of those 4-monitor desk brackets.

Incidentally, the KM switch I use switches keyboard & mouse only, it doesn't switch screens. So I can work on two PCs, look at 4 screens but use just one keyboard & mouse. 

Andy

Community Manager

•