Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 13th, 2009 17:00

Virtual Edition Client auto-discovery issue

Hi,

I have been asked to have a look at the VEC. First of all, I have no knowledge of Networker so someone will help me out there. I need to look at how to install the client on the vmware side of things.

I seem to have some problems with the auto-discovery.
I installed client on my virtual center and now I am trying to configure the auto-discovery but it fails.

My web services are running on VC as I can connect to web client in my browser. I don't get any indication as to why it fails.

Starting Auto Discovery Process for vcenter1
Monitoring Auto Discovery for vcenter1
Auto Discovery for vcenter1 failed Failed
Monitoring Auto Discovery Completed

Any ideas
Cheers

Message was edited by:
AllBlack

2 Intern

• 

14.3K Posts

September 4th, 2009 02:00

Is there more in log of NW or VC for that session?

10 Posts

November 6th, 2009 08:00

Having the same issue. On the Advanced tab, it is looking for http://servername/sdk

If I go to that page in a web browser, I get "The webpage cannot be found". Do we need a software development kit from Networker for to auto discover? Do the ESX hosts need to have the Virtual Client installed first?

10 Posts

December 22nd, 2009 13:00

So this is what I have learned since my first post.  If your Virtual Center is on a 64 bit operating system the "nsrvim" script will not install because it is only for 32 bit machines.  And Networker Engineers seemed to be under the impression no one would be using a 64 bit operating system ever!  7.6 does not have it either, so I guess maybe 7.7 will have it

28 Posts

December 22nd, 2009 13:00