Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 8th, 2012 10:00

Quick Stacking Question - PowerConnect 5548

Hello,

I am fairly new to managing switches and entirely new to stacking switches.  I recently watched our sys admin setting up new Dell PowerConnect 5548 Switches and was curious about a particular issue with stacking.

We have four switches set up, and they are stacked using the HDMI cables, this is the result from show switch:

DPCStack# show switch
Unit MAC Address Software Master Uplink Downlink Status
---- ----------------- ---------- -------- --------- --------- -------
1 d0:67:e5:7c:fe:54 4.1.0.1 Enabled 2 4 master
2 d0:67:e5:7c:eb:7d 4.1.0.1 Enabled 3 1 backup
3 d0:67:e5:7c:ec:1c 4.1.0.1 Disabled 4 2 slave
4 d0:67:e5:7c:f9:5c 4.1.0.1 Disabled 1 3 slave
Topology is Ring
Stack image auto synchronization is enabled

My question is that the activity light between the links between 1 2 and 3 blinks non stop, but the light on the link between 3 and 4 is almost completely dark.  I've only seen it flicker a few times since everything was up and running.  What adds to my question is that our file server is on the 4th switch and when moving a large file to or from a host on the 3rd switch, there is no increase on the activity light between the two.
Is there a way to monitor the data usage on the links between switches?  Is it normal for one of the links to be lower traffic?  I don't have a full understanding of what's going on yet, but our sys admin seemed a bit bothered by it too.

Any input would be appreciated, thanks for your time.

802 Posts

June 8th, 2012 10:00

You are going to see a lot more traffic between Unit 1 and 2 as they are the Master and backup members.  The Master is managing the whole stack and then relaying all that information to the backup member.  The backup member will take over the Master position if for some reason the Master went down.  

You can set up Port Mirroring to monitor traffic.

Port Mirroring