Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

F

April 24th, 2007 07:00

frequent dropouts after Internet connection

Hi folks, I'm no newbie, but hardly an expert. I'm a home user and not a professional, I've owned computers for 30 years and am currently using a Dell Dimension 8300, with a 3 GHz processor, 512 MB of memory, and add-on GeForce 5900XT video and Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound cards. My problem is that I'm subject to frequent losses of my dial-up Internet connection. It started when my ISP forced me to switch access numbers 6 months ago and so I blamed them, but after trying a new ISP the problem remains. I heard somewhere that video cards could cause dial-up connection problems. I had a total system crash (thanks to a hard drive failure) a year ago and only recenbtly upgraded the drivers for my video card and for a single night got a totally stable, if slow, connection. Since then it's been the same old same old. This is driving me nuts! In the middle of downloads, or checking e-mail. or any normal online activity, I just get dropped. My ISP tech "support" (via the Philippines) had me re-install my dial-up software but it didn't help. Anybody have any ideas about this? Thanks in advance, you wonderful people, Paul

1.3K Posts

April 24th, 2007 20:00

FlyFool,

You did not mention what operating system is installed so I will assume Microsoft Windows. Normally this type of problem is caused by an IRQ conflict. Many times the IRQ is shared with either the video or audio interrups.

Using control panel, hardware, device, advanced, you can alter the settings for one or more of the devices to see if you can find one memory area that is not shared. Windows 98 up to Vista will allow manipulation of device settings.

1.7K Posts

April 25th, 2007 16:00