Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 1st, 2009 15:00

Need Help Dimension 4600

I am fairly new to the computer stuff, and i want to upgrade my dimension 4600 so i went to Dell and got suggestions for it. they gave me two types of memory and some hard drives, i got two sticks of the 512Mb ddr ram for my computer and i also purchased a 500gig hard drive which was supposed to be a eide but came to me as sata and my power supply does not have sata connections so i will need to purchase a new power supply i guess, but back to memory ....

the memory when installed shows in the bios, and everything is showing it added, but when i log onto the computer i am getting an error saying:   Alert Os is in install mode virtual memory only 258Mb, press f1 to continue or f2 to go to set up.

43 Posts

November 1st, 2009 22:00

Dparkfamily - Jeff here - you stated "I am fairly new to the computer stuff", so lets slow down a bit. Adding multiple NEW components to a computer at the same time is never a wise choice. No offense intended. You want to get the Memory working first, then the new hard drive once you are satisfied the memory is working OK.  DO NOT purchase a new Power Supply yet. You may not need one. That would create another huge variable. I am NOT a Dell-Certified technician, however I do have 37-years experience in Computers, Mainframes & PC's. (not bragging)...

Rule # 1 in computers is "do not introduce/upgrade more than 1-thing at a time".