Start a Conversation

Unsolved

B

1 Message

August 16th, 2018 13:00

Can I install Audigy 2 CA0102-ICT in a Dell Optiplex?

I have an old Dell Dimension with an Audigy 2 CA0102-ICT sound card and an ATI - Radeon Graphics Card PN109-A32100-00 which I googled to give me the name Radeon Saphire X800GT and I have recently bought an old Dell Optiplex with an i7 quad core processor which I want to fool around with really. Can I install these in the Optiplex. I was really interested in Computers a long time ago and had to take a different direction in my life so I'm trying to get back into I something I was passionate about so please forgive any dumb questions, I'm a complete beginner. Also, how would I find out about what is compatible and what's not, other than contacting a forum that is?

I plan to put in a Nvidia GTX 970, a corsair 500W ATX and a USB 3.0 PCI card at a later stage (I'd love to get it to a stage where I could use an Oculus Rift for War Thunder) but for now I just want to practice some installations and modifications. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

August 16th, 2018 14:00

I say try it and learn what works. However, for most uses, on-board audio is fine and most are using USB and HDMI (on video-card itself) for audio now-days.

Reminds me of this project:

https://www.dell.com/community/Vostro/Vostro-460-XPS-8300-Upgrade-Adventures/td-p/6054983

I say keep the cheap and free machines running (even if in secondary positions). Spend your money on nice-new machines more "current-tech" upgrades.

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

August 16th, 2018 14:00

The Audigy 2 is PCI 2.0  not Universal PCI 2.2 +

So its not likely to work.

The X800 is AGP and so this is also not likely to work.

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

August 16th, 2018 15:00

@speedstep wrote:

The X800 is AGP and so this is also not likely to work.