Start a Conversation

Unsolved

B

11 Posts

July 13th, 2018 11:00

PowerEdge R620 - drive predicted failure

Let me start by saying I have been given the task of managing our exchange servers.  I am very new to managing Exchange.  So I hope can explain this the proper way.  We have a PE R620 (that is out of warranty) server running Server 2008 R2.  It is part of an Exchange cluster.  The machine has two drives setup as RAID-1 for the OS.  One of the drives (0:1:0) is blinking orange and then green off and on.  I am in the Server Manager and have the warning signal that this has a status of Failure Predicted as yes.

There are an additional 6 drives setup as RAID-5 that are working properly.

The system is running and functioning as it should.  In reading various things it appears that I need to swap out that drive for a new one and it will rebuild.  Is that true?  I need to order a matching drive for this configuration.  Does it have to be the same size?  What do I need to look for?

I looked into placing a call with Dell Out of Warranty support but the quote I was given was extreme.  But may have to that route.

Thanks in advance for any help.  As I said I very new to this so pretty much flying by the seat of pants.

• 

6.2K Posts

July 13th, 2018 14:00

Hello

I responded to another post about predictive failure earlier. Most of what I typed in that reply would apply here. There was also an earlier post where I talked about internal speed and transfer rates in relation to virtual disk requirements.

https://www.dell.com/community/PowerEdge-Hardware-General/acceleration-of-the-rotation/m-p/6111846

https://www.dell.com/community/PowerEdge-HDD-SCSI-RAID/disk-speed-and-capacity-question/m-p/6111131

You can find details about replacement procedures and supported configurations in the controller manual.

http://www.dell.com/storagecontrollermanuals/