Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 15th, 2017 06:00

Firmware upgrade MD3060e

Hello community,

I'm new to Dell so excuse my ignorance.

We recently acquired a refurbished Dell PowerVault MD3060e connected to a R710 via a Perc8 SAS controller. The server is setup as VEEAM B&R.

We are experiencing some issues with the server, in that it crashes about once a week. Every 5 to 6 days approximately. It used to crash every friday evening when our synthetic full backup starts. This is currently not the case anymore since i set it to use active full backups. So two weeks ago the server kept running and i was very happy.

2 days ago the server crashed again, "Error 0 on ID 0" is what the logging shows. I tried to research it, but wasn't able to find a solution yet.

In my search to resolve the issue, i'm trying to update/upgrade all the components. I'm currently trying to upgrade the firmware of the MD3060e. While Windows Server see's enclosure, i'm unable to find an adapter or emm when i use the Storage Enclosure Management Software. When i perform secli list adapters i see none.

Am i missing something? What do i need to do to be able to query the device? As far as i can tell there is no cabling needed?

Any help/insight is greatly appreciated

Peter

• 

7.1K Posts

September 18th, 2017 11:00

Hello Peter,

With an MD3060e all you need to update is the PERC card that it is connected to as well as the HDD firmware. All commands to update your MD3060e will be done via PERC Bios or Openmanage.

As for your host rebooting are you getting any errors listed for your PERC card or LSI errors like event ID 7,11, or 129 errors?

Please let us know if you have any other questions.

3 Posts

September 25th, 2017 07:00

Hi,

thank you for your reply.

Since my first post the server kept running - so i will investigate the issue if/once it reappears.