Start a Conversation

Unsolved

R

5 Posts

May 17th, 2018 11:00

M6500 BIOS update not working - Windows 10

HI all,

I have neglected updating the Bios on my M6500. The Current version seems to be the original A00.  To be honest this computer has worked great for years, I am a software developer and run VS and SQL Server among lots of other tools on this machine.

I updated from windows 7 to 10 which was not a complete disaster, but I had to spend hours turning things off to get the CPU under control and the updates are just awful but venting about windows 10 is another topic.

So my main issue is that the fans are running all the time even when cpu is 10% or less and RealTemp says its not too hot.  So that led me to some posts saying try updating the Bios.  This seems to be good idea regardless but the non of the newer .exe I downloaded from dell are working, it shows the approved message but then an error message when I click run.

I am running the exe as administrator.

I have tried the trick where you delete DELLBIOS from the registry and restart that also did not seem to work.

Another user suggested that Bios updates might need to go in order but I can seem to find anything older that A07?

78 Posts

May 17th, 2018 12:00

Hi rtbike.

Lots of people will disagree with us, but as you I think upgrading BIOS makes sense.  Not to say you are upgrading BIOS from so ancient release.  First firmware releases usually include important and very noticeable changes.

I had been reading the details for the BIOS on your computer.  You are right, there is nothing below A07 so this must be the first one you need to install.