Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

P

May 7th, 2008 19:00

1320c Printing all Black as Grey, after toner change

Hello,

Some time ago, I was told that the toner cartridges of our 1320c were changed, but now the text that was supposed to be black, prints out as grey, including windows test page and printer's own test page. Colors are also quite light, but no very pastel. The text is pretty uniform, and the printer monitor reports about 90% of cyan, magenta and black, but maybe 70% of yellow.

I've heard about the PHD 8 tapes isssue, but don't want to mess with that yet (consumer induced damage fears). also I don't know how the installation of the printer has been done (i'm quite new at the job).

May there are other issues tha can cause this behavior? I want to discard all possible things before messing with the PHD.

Thank you all in advance.

UPDATE: Finally, I removed the PHD. Still had 4 of the 8 tapes left. Took them out. Tried to print again, but still grey. do I have to print 10-20 pages before getting normal printouts, or it was supposed to be instantaneous? I don't really want to waste paper and precious ink.

Message Edited by Pietro_GP on 05-07-2008 03:59 PM
Message Edited by Pietro_GP on 05-07-2008 04:42 PM

1.7K Posts

May 8th, 2008 01:00

The issue is most likely the result of 4 of the PHD's 8 tapes were NOT removed and now, the developer units have been depleted. This happened because whoever initially setup the printer did not follow the installation instructions. The PHD is most likely ruined.