Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 19th, 2015 09:00

EMC/SMARTS Server Manager - SNMP polling

Apologies but I am a bit of a newbie looking for a little clarification on some technical points, I have read some of the documentation but have been unable to find the right detail.

I am looking to use ESM to manage the hardware & application processes on some HP standalone servers and in particular which SNMP MIBs are required to achieve each goal, the EMC documentation states that ESM will integrate with the the "HP management framework" and cites the HOST-RESOURCES-MIB and also COMPAQ-MIB but I would like to confirm for both the Hardware (power supply, fan etc.) monitoring which SNMP MIBs are required for integration with ESM and likewise for Application process monitoring which MIBs are required on the HP server to determine if a process or number of processes are running.

Apologies if there is not enough detail here to answer this, if not please ask and I will add more.

thanks, Mark.

53 Posts

January 20th, 2015 13:00

Mark,

If I understand your question correctly, you are correct,  Smarts ESM 9.3 and previous documentation states that ESM utilizes the HOST-RESOURCES-MIB as well as the COMPAQ-MIB to integrate with HP Servers with HP Systems Insight Manager agent.

The Compaq MIB is used for- Processor, Physical Memory, Virtual Memory and Filesystem

The Host-Resources-MIB is used for- Disks

The Following Network Objects are used.

Processor-                 Events= HighUtilization        

Physical Memory-      Evens= InsufficientFreeMemory

Virtual Memory-         Events= InsufficientFreeMemory

Disk-                           Events= OperationallyDown

Filesystem-                 Events= HighUtlization / LowSpaceAvailable

MemoryGroup            Events= InsufficentFreeMemory

ProcessorGroup         Events= HighUtilization

You can verify this on Page 196 Table 130 of the ESM User and Config Guide.