Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 9th, 2012 06:00

Global Console connectivity to SAM

Hello all, I am new to this community and indeed SMARTS, my background is Netcool & I am awaiting the SMARTS training so please forgive any poor questions. Whilst I await my training I am trying to build a small environment but am having a few problems - I think the issue is connectivity related as my environment is fairly locked down.

I have installed the SAM suite onto a Solaris 10 environment and managed to get the Broker running on port 80 (I have chosen port 80 because I know I can connect to port 80 from the Windows host on which I have installed the Console - tested this by spoofing from the Windows host and I get some HTML returned from the far end, this I am taking as the firewalls have let my connection through - unfortunately these are the only environments I have)

I have started "ic-sam-server" and can see that this is registered as INCHARGE-SA with the broker (./brcontrol)

On my windows host I start the console and ammend the Broker port to suit, in the Manager dropdown it then populates with "INCHARGE-SA" so I am guessing it has discovered that from the broker - for the uid/pwd I have tried both blank but also the default "admin/changeme".

All I seem to get is an error stating the console cannot connect to the Global Manager - see the error below.

incharge-sa.jpg

thanks for any assistance.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

November 9th, 2012 07:00

For SAM the command line should look like:

./sm_server --name=ic-sam-server --config=ics --port=22 --ignore-restore-errors --output

The config is looked up in conf/

If the config is in a directory tree separate from the install tree, you can use SM_WRITEABLE.

Note that the SMARTS software expects that tree to be similar in structure to what you find in the local subtree of the install area.

36 Posts

November 9th, 2012 06:00