Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 24th, 2009 15:00

Missing D Drive

I called Dell Support yesterday trying to find out how to recover my D drive which seemed to have disappeared from my Dell desktop 1100.  The tech walked me through a few steps and got me to the point where I could at least see the D drive, but instead of the program disk I had inserted, it contained the same folders that were in my C drive.  He tried to assist via remote access but my cell phone signal was too weak and we got disconnected. Can anyone suggest anything I can do to try to regain use of CD Rom drive keeping in mind I'm not too tech savvy?  Thanks for any help you can provide.  Kate

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

March 25th, 2009 18:00

Hi, Kate:

This problem can usually be solved by deleting the upper and lower filters, a process described in the CD/DVD FAQ under "code 39 error".

Let me know if that worked.

1 Message

September 5th, 2009 20:00

My D drive d vanished also.  I put a CD in and it acts like it wants to recognize it, but quits. I need step by step instructions to fix the problem. Anybody have instructions to get my D drive back. My computer is a XPS/Dimension 410/9200. Any help is appreciated. Thanks! Dennis

10.9K Posts

September 5th, 2009 22:00

Dennis,

Look in the Device Manager .........

Start | Control Panel | System in classic view | Hardware tab | Device Manager

Click on the (+) next to DVD/CD-ROM drives.  This will reveal the Brand and Model of
drive.  Please post that.

3 Posts

September 8th, 2009 16:00

Problem With Dell XPS 1330 DVD/CD driver (Matshita DVD+RW UJ-857G ATA Device)

Dear All,

I have Dell laptop XPS M1330 and I have a problem with my DVD/CD-ROM drives Matshita DVD+RW UJ-857G ATA Device It does not read or write on any dvd or cd can you please help ASAP What should I do?

Under Device status it states : this device cannot start (Code 10)

10.9K Posts

September 8th, 2009 18:00

jaymee4647,