Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

K

September 10th, 2018 13:00

Unity-based file replication with DFS

I am new to Unity and have glanced through the whitepapers, but I want to understand what the Unity is and is not capable of.  I would like to set up file shares in an existing DFS environment.  In the existing environment, we have Isilons set up in an active-passive config: each DFS share folder had 2 targets and thus 2 distinct file servers.

The Unity does not seem to work the same way.  I have successfully configured a simple source and target replication, but the Unity replicates BOTH the file system and file server together and I can't seem to separate the two.  So this means that I have a single file server to place in my DFS and I would need to use the Unity to perform failovers.  Am I understanding this correctly?  Also, my arrays are on different subnets but I did notice I can put a second IP on as an 'override' so that seems to solve that issue..

I'm working with 2 Unity 550F all-flash arrays.

5 Posts

September 11th, 2018 07:00

Thank-you, Chris.  We do use Superna with our Isilons and that works well.  With Unity, it seems the redundancy is fully built in so there doesn't even seem like much need for DFS from that perspective.  But I think we'll keep it for the simple fact that everything (Isilon and Unity file shares) is in one DFS tree structure.  And that's nice regarding the DNS auto-registration.  I'll definitely fully test before going into prod. THanx again!  -Karl

450 Posts

September 11th, 2018 07:00