Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

U

June 30th, 2015 10:00

New to VNX 5200

First off, im only a part-time storage admin, with no familiarity of VNX 5200, but some Clariion experience.

We just bought a pair of VNX 5200's with a single tray of 25x900GB drives.

I have some questions to get me going here.

1) Do I use the same Navisphere GUI and naviseccli CLI to admin the array?

2) With only 25 drives in the array, my thought was to create 1x hot spare and 2x 11+1 Raid-5 groups, is there a better approach?

3) Does the array support NFS directly or do I need an external server to host NFS?

4) I will need to implement SAN-COPY from the VNX(production) to an older Clariion CX4(DR), but it will  have to go over iSCSI, which I have never configured before, is there a cheat-sheat on how to setup SAN-COPY (or what ever it's called in VNX land) using iSCSI?

5) Im currently using a CX4 to host luns for production (including ESXi), and will be migrating the luns to the VNX by presenting new luns and using LVM to migrate data, however, for ESXi, is there any special integration or capability the VNX offers that I can make use of?

Thanks for any suggestions, and your understanding that I am in-experienced in the VNX line.

2 Intern

• 

222 Posts

June 30th, 2015 14:00

Thanks, I have had trouble with pools on a CX array, where you cannot shrink them once you migrate luns. I would probably go with 2 raid groups to allow for data to be moved if I need to change the disk configuration.

As for sancopy, it's a one-time sync from a clone to the DR site, so the "source" is static, and periodically refreshed. Again, I have some CX experience, so im probably using the wrong terms here, but I don't need sync-replication.

Im pretty sure we didn't get any data movers, so bummer, I will have to continue using host-based NFS.

Thanks again.

1.2K Posts

June 30th, 2015 14:00

Welcome aboard!