Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 2nd, 2008 22:00

Spyware Doctor - Renewal issues..

I have been using PC Tools Spyware Dr for the past 2 years now on 2 of my computers and the current subscription expires within 2 weeks.   PC Tools charges $29.95 to renew the program / license for another year... I can buy a new in box Spyware Doctor program for use on up to 3 machines with licenses on the popular auction site for less than $10.  I have been told that once Spyware Doctor has been installed and activated on a computer, even though the program is removed, parts of it remain behind and prohibit reinstalling the same program with a new license code and subscription.   In other words, renew at their price or don't use it at all..  Can anyone comment on this or have I been misinformed.. Is there a better alternative?    

20.5K Posts

August 2nd, 2008 22:00

I think you'll get a "two thumbs up" from the regulars here to spend the money on MalwareBytes Anti-Malware. There is a free version if you want to try it. The only difference in the free and paid versions is that the paid version includes automatic updating and realtime scanning. The free version requires manual updating and on-demand scanning.
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

I have no connection with the company, but I do use it on almost every malware problem that is posted on the HijackThis Board, and I can verify that it works!

1 Rookie

• 

5.8K Posts

August 3rd, 2008 00:00

I agree with Bugbatter, as far as the free version of MBAM goes.

I cannot answer your specific questions on renewing Spyware Doctor, but I have to ask a more basic question:
Is Spyware Doctor a trustworthy program that you want on your PC? In my experience, the answer is "no".

My experience with Spyware Doctor 5 last year was less than stellar, to say the least:
http://en.community.dell.com/forums/p/18678601/18801721.aspx#18801721