Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 28th, 2009 20:00

Laptop requires USB floppy drive to reinstall Windows XP, can I use flash drive or flash memory?

After being attacked by several Trojans a couple of nights ago, my security and personal information may be compromised as I speak, and it looks likely that I'll have format and re-install Windows XP on my laptop for the first time. This is my first time doing so for this CLEVO D900T, which is from circa-2005 and a hand-me-down from a family member. The thing is, I'm reading in this laptop's manual that in order to re-install WIndows XP, I'll be needing a USB floppy disk drive to install what appears to the drivers for the laptop's SATA drive. Thing is, I wasn't given a USB floppy drive by my family member, thus I don't have one. I was wondering, could I instead use a flash drive or flash memory (i.e microSD card) via the laptop's card reader to load the drivers? I'm not sure if in this case it'd be best if I just re-install or format and re-install.

Also, I'm trying to make it easier for me to get my laptop back to the way it is when and if I re-install. Is there any way I can get a list of all of the programs I have installed on my PC right now, or possibly carry over all of my programs and settings for the next install? Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

9 Legend

• 

33.3K Posts

March 29th, 2009 04:00

What is a "CLEVO D900T" ?  We usually refer to the regular Dell model number on this forum.  We are not Dell employees and do not normally have access to internal designations.  We use, as an example   "Inspiron 1525" or "XPS M170", etc.

HERE is the Dell reinstallation procedures, this may help you.

14.4K Posts

March 29th, 2009 08:00

Hi DynamoMan, Why dont you use Windows Restore and take your system back to an time before you were hit by the virus. It will save you a lot of greif reistalling your operating system.