Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

J

July 29th, 2015 22:00

I'm confused

I'm confused

I hope you can assist me. I'm not really sure what to do with this app I just purchased. I can't connect to my iMac, probably because the resolution is too high. It crashes every time since the first time I was able to load it (could watch it load 1 line of pixels across the screen every 30 seconds or so). Even in my little XP installation I've got the worst refresh rate I've ever seen, and the phone's landscape mode is useless as the resolution doesn't adjust for anything but portrait.

I'm no VNC expert but I'm running on 30mbit cable and I've never had issue with such refresh rates. Bandwidth freshly tested, other VNC clients tested, there's nothing I can do on my end short of maybe changing resolutions to 640x480. I'm not going to leave the house and set my resolution down to 1995 standards (not that I even could, especially on the iMac).

Please, I'm not trying to be rude, but what am I supposed to do with this application? I hope I didn't just waste $15. The app description made no note that no Mac client was included capable of changing the screen resolution. If I'm reading the situation correctly, this means a 27" iMac user or an owner of a cinema display is out of luck unless they leave the house and set their resolution down. If I can plan to need VNC beforehand, I can plan to not need it at all.

I know that the standards used by your app are fairly universal, and it seems that other VNC apps that do work for me are compressing the image. Either way, I'm unsure how to proceed. I'm not angry, I'm just dealing with the initial shock that one feels when they think they may have just wasted money that they probably shouldn't have 

200 Posts

Let me try to help you out, hopefully we can narrow things down based on the following feedback
1) What iPhone version do you have (e.g. iPhone4, 3G, 3GS, etc)? Different phones have different