XPS Desktops

Last reply by 07-21-2021 Solved
Start a Discussion
2 Jasper
2 Jasper

XPS 8940, Better 3rd party cooler

Hello there

I would greatly appreciate any help to find a new/better 3rd party cooler for my XPS 8940. It came with the thin and small stock cooler and is overheating the whole time. I got a i9-10900 processor with 128 GB of RAM and I need this computer to generate some GIS layers. These jobs take 2-4 hrs every time and I can see that the processor is throttling or C° 97+ all the time.

I tried the Noctua 15S but the problem is there is no space for the bracket under the motherboard. The stock fan screws directly into the chassis from above.

Thank you very much

Replies (929)

This is a really great thread.

I have 25 years experience in IT and left that role 3 years ago (now I am in the R&D 3D printing world).

Dumb question follows...removing the old paste..paper towel?  Isoprofyl alcohol wipe?

I'm used to building my own systems/gaming rigs.  I needed a system for my YouTube Live Stream and RTX cards are hard to source.  I spent $1900 on this 3070 equipped machine (should arrive in 3 weeks) and it would cost me close to twice that to do my ideal rig (RTX 3090, AMD 5950, etc).  The value is certainly a big plus on this machine.

@LikeHerdingCats 

I use paper towels and regular rubbing alcohol, and a bunch of Q-tips.  Regarding the paper towels, don't use cheap thin ones as they tear easy and leave behind pieces.  Personally I feel that the wipes are too thin and don't pick-up enough of the old paste, especially if it's gunked-up.

@LikeHerdingCats - I only have limited experience that I can count on both hands. But I use the individually wrapped alcohol prep pads. Mainly because I had some here.... They work great for me.

175051589_802737470657114_7463797883876092086_n.jpg

I used paper towel and the Arctic Silver Arcticlean Thermal Material Remover & Surface Purifier Kit, ACN-60ML, that I bought off Amazon.