Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 16th, 2019 19:00

Can I install windows 10 student on dell xps 15?

Hi, I'm planning to get a XPS 15 9570 and as a student I was able to get my hands on windows 10 student and was thinking about installing it on the laptop. Would the fingerprint reader stop working if I do this? If yes, is there a way to get the fingerprint reader working again with the new operating system?

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

February 17th, 2019 07:00

Windows 10 Education is still Windows 10, so any drivers and applications that work on the "regular" versions of Windows 10 would work on Windows 10 Education.  You'll just have to reinstall software.  The Dell Update application will help you get the drivers you need to get everything up and running again, otherwise you can download drivers manually from support.dell.com.  Note that in the latter case, I recommend just searching your system model rather than Service Tag, because sometimes the Drivers & Downloads list omits drivers that are relevant to your system when you search by Service Tag.  Using system model means that you might see other drivers that AREN'T relevant, but I think that's better overall.

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

February 17th, 2019 13:00

If it's a new computer it comes with windows 10 Home. The operating system belongs to the computer and you have a license to use it. You might have problems activating the education version especially if it is from a school that uses a volume license. 

9 Legend

• 

14K Posts

February 17th, 2019 15:00

@Mary G wrote:

If it's a new computer it comes with windows 10 Home. The operating system belongs to the computer and you have a license to use it. You might have problems activating the education version especially if it is from a school that uses a volume license.