Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 4th, 2021 17:00

Precision 5550 fan issue

Hi,

Several days ago I got a new Precision 5550 laptop. It has a very annoying fan issue. The fan will turn on (or go high speed) for several seconds, then it will turn off (or go much lower speed) for several seconds, and repeat for the whole day. It's very annoying and distracting when I'm working using this laptop. I have updated BIOS and all drivers to the latest version from Dell support page. I also tried different modes in BIOS, like optimized (default) and quiet. Both have the same issue. Is this normal for this laptop?

The Precision 5510 laptop I have been using for the last 4 years is very quiet most of time. It does not have this issue.

How can I make the new Precision 5550 laptop as quiet as the old 5510?

Btw, compared to 4 years old 5510, this 5550 is a big step BACKWARD. Besides the fan noise mentioned above, its keyboard is worse than 5510's, although neither gives great typing experience. 5550 has a much bigger touch pad. But it's much harder to use than the smaller one on 5510. 5550 has a 16:10 display, which is better than 16:9 on 5510 for work. But the display color looks too warm. The display on 5510 has better color accuracy.

Thanks,

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

March 8th, 2022 11:00

The Precision team reviewed the video. The fans are acting as designed.

Never put any laptop in a bag or backpack while the laptop is in any sleep or hibernate mode. With regards to transporting your laptop, safety should be your primary concern. Under no circumstances should you leave a laptop powered on and in any sleep/hibernate/standby mode when placed in a bag, backpack, or in an overhead bin. The laptop will overheat as a result of that action. You should always turn the laptop OFF =
* Select the Start button
* Click Power
* Click Shut down

5 Posts

February 4th, 2021 17:00