Start a Conversation

Unsolved

A

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 12th, 2019 07:00

BIOS Updates Again ???

Come on!!! Enough DELL! I've been using Dell PC's and laptops for many years and NEVER experienced this before. 

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

July 12th, 2019 08:00

Everyone has updates based on CVE. Meltdown and Spectre are from last year and there are new variants.

The latest CVE is called Zombieload.

ZombieLoad is known as a Microarchitectural Data Sampling (MDS) vulnerability, and it shares some characteristics with Spectre and Meltdown, the two side channel attacks announced in January 2018.

Memory corruption in Intel Active Management Technology in Intel Converged Security Manageability Engine Firmware 6.x / 7.x / 8.x / 9.x / 10.x / 11.0 / 11.5 / 11.6 / 11.7 / 11.10 / 11.20 could be triggered by an attacker with local administrator permission on the system.

Buffer overflow in HTTP handler in Intel Active Management Technology in Intel Converged Security Manageability Engine Firmware 3.x, 4.x, 5.x, 6.x, 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, and 11.x may allow an attacker to execute arbitrary code via the same subnet.

This can affect vulnerable version of Windows, Linux or MacOS

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts

July 12th, 2019 10:00

Like @speedstep said, this is entirely Intel's (and Microsoft's) fault. Dell, other OEMS, and users are all just caught in the middle.

Nobody forces you to update BIOS, ever. But then you have to accept the risk and responsibility that your PC gets hacked because you didn't update BIOS...

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts

August 23rd, 2019 17:00

All we know is what Dell posts on their support page about a BIOS update. The page  frequently refers to a CVE (security threat) which details specifics about the problem the update fixes. So you can google that CVE if you want to know the geeky details.