How to Save and Back Up Your Configuration on Dell PowerConnect, Dell Force10, and Dell Networking N-Series Switches Using the CLI
Summary: This article explains the process and importance of saving your configuration and backing it up using the CLI.
Instructions
Table of Contents
- Save your configuration
- Back up your configuration to an external device
- How the switch uses its configuration files
- Why and when to save and back up configurations
Also See: How to save and back up your configuration on Dell N-series switches via Web GUI
Save your configuration
To save your configuration, input the following command:
console#copy running-config startup-config
Back up your configuration to an external device
To back up your startup-config to an external device, input the following commands:
This example uses the IP address 192.168.0.1 for the TFTP server and filename backup.cfg
console#copy startup-config tftp://192.168.0.1/backup
How the switch uses its configuration files
All Dell switches covered by this guide have at least two configuration files: the startup-config and the running-config. It is important to understand how these configurations are used and stored by the switch.
startup-config
- Stored in NVRAM
- Because it is stored in NVRAM, the switch retains the startup-config even if it reboots or loses power
running-config
- Stored in RAM
- Because it is stored in RAM, the switch clears this file when it reboots or loses power
When a switch powers on, it loads its startup-config file. From there, it copies the startup-config file over a blank running-config file, since the running-config is lost after the switch loses power or reboots. From that point, the switch operates based on its running-config. Any configuration changes on the switch are applied to the running-config, which is how most configuration changes take effect immediately without a reboot. Changes in the configuration are not written to the startup-config until you run the following command.
copy running-config startup-config
Why and when to save and backup configurations
Saving Configuration
Saving the configuration is crucial. It ensures that the switch retains its current configuration in the case of power failure or reboot. Risks that can cause a switch to reboot unexpectedly include power outages, physical security breaches, and unforeseen circumstances.
Backing up configuration
A backup should always be performed before any of the following.
- After configuring a new switch
- Before a firmware update
- Before changing a working configuration
- Before replacing a switch
- Before physically moving the switch
- Before changing the hardware on a switch (Modules, cabling, power supplies)
If a backup is performed at each of these steps, then if something unforeseen happens, there is a backup of the switch configuration. Instead of having to reconfigure the switch completely if the configuration is lost, you can simply upload the backup file to the switch.